10 Sun Salutations a Day

I once told a friend that PuddleBoots would be a great name for a band.  I don’t have a band.  I do have two little kids, a Master’s degree in C&I in Children’s Literature and 200 hour yoga teacher certification.  So this is my rock star forum.

Having two babies in your thirties can really wreck your body.  In addition to all the stretching and shifting of things, there is the whole 6 week, no exercise, recoup period.  Once you are free to exercise, you are so creaky and out of shape that 10 sun salutations is a challenge.  It is a challenge not just because of the physical activity, or because I’m so used to treating my body gingerly, but because I have two demanding and “spirited” children.

Ten sun salutations.  This is my goal.  It should be easy, but it is not.  For instance,  I just told my three year old that we could do our yoga quietly because the baby is asleep.  She informed me that she wanted to do it LOUD.  This would wreck the whole experience as the baby would wake up, and I would be trying to finish down dog whilst she cried.  It is hard enough to commit to down dog with a three year old jumping on you and groping at your breasts.  (She never really wanted to wean.  I nursed her until she was three).

Here we go!

Today’s music was a compilation from Shiva Rea called Jala.  We are all partial to the track entitled Srigara.

I will admit, even though it is a struggle to get through each and every sequence, I feel so much better after it is over.  It is like I have worked out the poison from the night’s interrupted sleep from my muscle memory.

After Sun Salutations is random yoga time with Eve (3 yr. old):

Butterfly, basically cobbler’s pose, Baddha Konasana, with flapping legs

Staff pose , Dandasana, with intertwined legs and forward bend resulting in tickles for Eve

After yoga Dance Party:

Me and Eve dance in front of my seven-week old while she smiles and fills her diaper.

Changing of the diaper followed by nursing followed by the end to yoga, no savasana today!

Finally, the BEST thing about doing yoga with my three year old is that she calls the poses “potions” – it makes yoga even more magical.

Then, try desperately to maintain good mood as baby cries at you, eats and three-yr old demands more Chocolate Bunny  Milk (Nestle Quik and almond milk).  TRY. DESPERATELY.

Leave a Reply

